* * *

The Beacon Prize 2005/06

Nominations for the Third Beacon Prize closed in November 2005 following a national marketing campaign, piloted by the Daily Telegraph and Classic FM, seeking the 'unsung heroes' who have made a real difference in the charitable world today.

Beacon received over 400 nominations from the length and breadth of the UK, which were subject to a three-stage assessment process involving around 40 expert volunteers from the voluntary, business and media sectors.

Selected by a prestigious panel of independent Judges, 16 Prize Winners were drawn from an outstanding list of short-listed nominations made up of national and community figures, the rich and not-so-rich, coming from a wide range of ages and backgrounds, jointly representing charitable endeavour in Britain today.

The Prize Giving Ceremony took place in November 2005 hosted at Plaisterer’s Hall, London by Social Exclusion Minister, Hilary Armstrong MP, with the overall prize of £30,000 going to the founder of L’Arche, an international disability charity, Jean Vanier.

Beacon Fellows are actively engaged in the Beacon Fellowship.